Avocado “Cheese”cake

3

January 21, 2013 by Sam

Sweet avocado may sound gross to some people, but before you knock it I encourage you to try it. Growing up, my mom would make me a delicious summer treat if I was good. For lack of an actual name for it, I just call it avocado ice cream. Milk, avocado & a little sugar all mixed together then frozen. This dessert reminds me of a grown up version of my mom’s treat.

This recipe comes from Heather Pace’s yummy little blog Sweetly Raw. I tweaked it slightly reducing some of the sweetness & omitting a couple ingredients that I didn’t find necessary. The end result was super creamy, perfectly sweet, green goodness.

Avocado Cheesecake

Avocado Cheesecake - Primal Noms

Serves: 8

Ingredients
For the crust:

1 cup almonds

3/4 cup shredded coconut

6 dates, pitted

1 tbs. melted coconut oil

For the filling:

3 avocado

3 tbs. maple syrup

4 tsp. pure vanilla extract

3 tbs. melted coconut butter

9 tbs. melted coconut oil

pinch of salt

Instructions
In a Vitamix/food processor/blender, grind the almonds into a fine meal. Add the coconut & dates and blend together while slowly drizzling in the coconut oil. Press the dough into the bottom of a spring form pan.

Next, add all filling ingredients to your Vitamix/food processor/blender & blend until smooth. Pour the filling on top of the crust & smooth it out evenly. Let chill in the refrigerator for 4-6 hours.

3 thoughts on “Avocado “Cheese”cake

  1. I would try it, but I`m not sure I`d like it. I`ve disliked avocado before, but I`ll be the first to admit it was after they were shipped cross country, and out of season. Maybe I`ll try it again when I go on vacation to California in the distant future.

  2. Sam says:

    Definitely let me know what you think when you get a chance to try it! The avocado flavor isn’t super strong in the cheesecake but it does give it the creamiest texture.

  3. Ron says:

    Hi – Sounds good except for the dates – too high on the “G” index.
    Avocado does taste like avocado- try chocolate cookie recipe – gives the moisture you need.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Categories

