Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Leave a comment

March 8, 2013 by Sam

I know, I know – chocolate zucchini?! Weird? Yes. Surprisingly delicious? You bethca!

My sister is pretty awesome and is always passing along awesome primal and paleo recipes she finds.  I introduced her to primal eating not long after I started and she’s really gotten on board. When she sent me this recipe from Slim & Strong, I was intrigued and I knew I had to try it.

I’ve made a few different grain-free breads before, but they are usually super dense and don’t have the texture I’m looking for. After tweaking the recipe a few times, I am super pleased with the outcome. I now make this recipe weekly! It’s more a savory than sweet treat but I love a slice with a generous helping of delicious Kerrygold grass-fed butter.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Chocolate Zucchini Bread - Primal Noms

Makes 1 loaf

Ingredients
Coconut oil, for greasing bread pan

2 zucchini

4 eggs

1 cup almond butter

2 tsp. vanilla

4 tbs. unsweetened, shredded coconut

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa

4 tbs. coconut flour

1 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. cinnamon

Instructions

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Grease a 9″ x 5″ bread pan with coconut oil.

Using a cheese grater, shred the zucchini into a bowl & set aside.

Combine the eggs, almond butter & vanilla in a Vitamix, food processor, or blender. Pulse a few times to mix all together. Add the shredded coconut & zucchini and blend until smooth.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread 1 - Primal Noms

In a bowl, add the remaining ingredients & mix.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread 2 - Primal Noms

Pour in the almond butter mixture and stir until everything is combined into a thick batter.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread 4 - Primal Noms

Pour the batter into the greased bread pan & use a spatula to evenly distribute.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread 5 - Primal Noms

Bake for 35-40 minutes, until a knife put in comes out clean.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread 6 - Primal Noms

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers

Categories

