Banana Chocolate Pancakes


October 4, 2013 by Sam

Growing up, my Dad always made banana pancakes. (Now that I think about it, I don’t think I’ve ever seen him make a batch of pancakes without bananas!) They are the perfect sweet & fluffy treat on a weekend morning. A couple weekends ago, I was craving this treat & found a great recipe. We topped our’s with just grass-fed butter. They had enough sweetness in them that you don’t need any syrup.

The addition of chocolate to the pancakes make them extra yummy. I always find it best to use my favorite dark chocolate bar rather than chocolate chips. I haven’t found chocolate chips that are dark enough for my liking so I just pick out my favorite 85% cacao or higher dark chocolate bar & use a knife to chop it up.

I hope you enjoy these as much as we did!

Banana Chocolate Pancakes (adapted from Against All Grain)

Banana Chocolate Pancakes // Primal Noms

Makes: 8 pancakes

3 eggs

1 very ripe banana

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 cup coconut milk

2 tbs. coconut flour

1/3 cup almond flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 cup chopped dark chocolate

In a medium bowl, add the eggs, banana, vanilla & coconut milk.ChocolateBananaPancakes2PrimalNoms

Mix together, mashing the banana up as you mix.

In another bowl, mix together the remainder of the ingredients.


Combine the wet & dry ingredients and mix thoroughly until a batter forms. Let the batter sit for 4 minutes.


Heat a skillet to medium-low & grease with coconut oil. Scoop 1/4 cup of the batter into the pan & let cook until it bubbles & the edges solidify.


Flip the pancake and cook for a couple more minutes.


Serve hot! (You can keep them in a warm oven while the other pancakes cook.)

One thought on “Banana Chocolate Pancakes

  1. Dad says:

    I highly recomend the pancakes. Dad

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 26 other followers


